Jewish Laws and Kosher Food

The laws of the Jewish, laws that are also known as the Halakha, have certain strict requirements for the food that is to be consumed and for this food, the word “kosher” means that these requirements have been met and the food is safe to eat. Kosher is usually used to refer to food that meets these requirements, but the word also pertains to other things. According to the Halakha, during the preparation of food, meat is not allowed to be mixed with dairy products of any sort and pork is very strictly forbidden by the Jewish law.

Before a manufacturer of food is allowed to sell their food products, labeled as a kosher food product, they are required to go through an inspection period where the food manufacturer is checked to make sure that the preparation of the food follows the Jewish law and is safe for people following the Halakha to eat. The preparation of kosher food cannot even be prepared using the same equipment that has been used to prepare non-kosher food, otherwise it is not considered kosher and is not safe to eat according to the Halakha.

People who follow the Jewish law do not find it safe to eat non-kosher food. It’s forbidden and they rely on the kosher symbol to let them know what food products they are allowed to eat without disobeying the requirements of the Halakha. It’s very important to them that the requirements are met, therefore kosher food is not labeled as kosher until it has been properly inspected and the letter of approval has been sent out, confirming that the food is, in fact kosher, and is safe to eat by people who follow the Jewish law.